top of page

SPiritual practices for lent

Resources for Spiritual Growth

Transformation through the Spiritual Practices

Life is a constant change of “seasons.”  Some are times of celebration and joy, while others are difficult and filled with pain. The Christian life is also full of seasons. 

Lent is a season when we look inward at the state of our soul. We can choose to make more room for God by giving up something through the practice of prayer, fasting and almsgiving. These practices of self-denial give us purposeful time to pray, repent, and focus on gratitude. 

The church observes the season of Lent beginning on Ash Wednesday and ending on Holy Saturday, the day before Easter.  During this 40-day period we reflect on the life of Jesus Christ — particularly his temptation, struggle, suffering, crucifixion, and death. 

weekly scripture readings

These readings correspond to the weekend messages.

Week one (week of Feb. 26)           Mark 6:30-44; John 6:1-66

Week two (week of March 5)          Matthew 9:9-13

Week three (week of March 12)     Luke 7:36-50

Week four (week of March 19)       Luke 14:7-14

Week five (week of March 26)        Luke 14:15-24

Week six (week of April 2)              John 12:1-8

Spiritual Practices for lent

additional resource

A resource designed to help you read the Bible with the church. 

bottom of page